business news in context, analysis with attitude

The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette reports that the Ramapo Valley Brewery of Hillburn, N.Y., has developed a new beer – Passover Honey Beer – that contains no barely or grain, and so can be consumed by people who cannot tolerate gluten.

And, it’s kosher for Passover.

The beer is made with honey, molasses, hops, kosher-certified yeast and water, according to the company, which leads some people to suggest that it isn’t really beer. And while the brewers concede that it doesn’t taste a lot like traditional beer, they note that it does have hops and that it is the closest people with celiac disease can come to enjoying a cold one.

About one in every 133 people is afflicted with celiac disease.
KC's View: